A curious heart

Her name was Meera.

She was my next door neighbor in the hostel .We used to travel to college together.

She was like a Rose. Lovely.

Interested boys would urge me to present their ‘love’ interest to her. I had once obliged. Meera  had smiled, dismissively.

She would buy flowers for herself on Valentine’s day, hum love songs in the bathroom.

Girls questioned her sanity and orientation.

Later, she became even more popular for her outstanding academic results.

Meera was intimidating, for average people.

‘I would prefer to die alone than taking a dip in imitation love ‘, Meera would say.

Word count – 100

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle. Thanks dear Rochelle for hosting the challenge.

PHOTO PROMPT © Kelvin M. Knight. Thank you, Kelvin.

 

61 thoughts on “A curious heart

    • I too wonder, Rochelle . She is a mysterious lady . I wonder if a past heartbreak may have been the reason.
      Thank you for reading and for your encouraging words, Rochelle.

      Like

  1. I agree with Sascha. You’ve created an excellent character. How will she use her talent and beauty? I also wonder how we would all respond to a man with the same brains and good looks. I think it might be rather different…
    Well done, Moon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thought-provoking comment , Penny .
      I believe , a possible heartbreak might have inspired her to channelise her energies in a different direction . hence she might have become so absorbed in her academic world that She didn’t have the time to feel loneliness. The need for a partner once she has achieved what she has wanted to achieve in life might then motivate her to consider men seriously enough . I hope she will still have the Mr Right waiting for her at that point .
      If she were to be a man , people would have probably adjusted better to her occupation with self . What are your thoughts on the same ?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I think people would just have felt she was ambitious if she was a man. They might have thought she was rather cold, but it would have been unremarkable. I think you’re right about past heartbreak perhaps being the cause, but it may just be how she is. You’ve given her a nice sense of humour, singing love songs in the bathroom. I bet it amuses her to see people’s attempts to find her a man. I like this character, Moon, and hope you use her in a longer story sometime.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I can understand her.
    She doesn’t want to be another victim of the dictates of the society she has been born into.
    She is the typical nouveau young Indian woman who is breaking out of the narrowly rigid box her sisters from previous generations were confined in.
    Good for her.
    I have one at home – my daughter. I am proud of her!
    Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Strong women are admired and hated and feared and worshipped . 🙂 You may be right about her inner strength attracting people .
      Thanks so much for reading . 🙂
      Appreciate your comment .

      Like

Leave a Reply

