Dream come true

I have been here all day, for the last three days, holding an umbrella for him, atop this thirsty hill.

He wants to shoot, he says. Instead, he has been shooting me, every day, with an empty plate, but for thick rice and salt in the evenings.

My parents had promised, I would help, as I knew the geography all too well. Besides, he is an old ‘friend’, I, a benevolent soul.

Frankly, I was forced to contemplate schemes for his final un-beautiful goodbye.

Only, he bought me back with the promise of a lead role in his wilderness series.

 

Word count-100

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted byΒ Rochelle. Thanks dear Rochelle for hosting the challenge.

PHOTO PROMPT © Danny Bowman

 

 

 

72 thoughts on “Dream come true

    • I too doubt the honesty in his offer.on the other hand, when ‘dream’ is just the best bargain you can get, the disappointment is likely to be less. However, considering the fact that the ‘benevolent soul’ had quite reached the breaking point of patience, I wonder how things will turn out for the shoot-er, if he decides to not honour the promise.
      Thanks so much, Penny.πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I never trust anyone who confesses to being a benevolent soul πŸ˜‰ I like to think the photographer will soon find that he has chewed off more than he bargained for unless he comes through with the lead role πŸ˜€ Nicely done Moon πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • well I noticed we both used the word “thirst” – not normally a big deal – but when folks use less than 100 words – well that is something in common. ha.
        and maybe the photo called for that word – because I noticed a few others used it.
        hm

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha. I went back and read out your story again to locate that word. I guess , it is because of the barrenness in the pic prompt.you have used it to show thirst of the soul , whereas I have used it in the sense of a thirsty land.
        It’s so nice to meet you , prior . Look forward to reading more of your beautiful stories.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Same here – I really look forward to reading more of your work – and I don it say that to all authors – trust me!
        Also – I love how u described the way we used those words.
        Even though my Marcel was physically thirsty and parched too – hah

        Liked by 1 person

    • I really doubt the ‘ good’ part , just, perhaps, the best deal under her circumstances and so she couldn’t let it go. Now, we can only hope. Thanks so much for reading my attempt, Dale.πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I struggled a bit to quite work this out and partly as I read “shoot” as in gun not”shoot” as in movie. Not surprising that I’m not quite getting it. I have two pups on my lap
    Hope you have a grea week.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

