There she goes again!

I felt acknowledged, I felt precious, I felt alive with Shekhar  and our wedding was quite appropriately a celebration of our love, yearning, companionship and affinity.

It wasn’t that he stopped loving me , it was just that he didn’t have time or the inclination to stand up for my choices or my freedom when his parents,( who lived with us )vetoed on them.

Stepping out of the house without his parent’s permission or even choosing to pray in my preferred way, were perceived as disrespect and eventually I started to question myself , for,I wasn’t meant to be a prisoner, I wasn’t meant to be a slave!

The endless compromises, the perpetual suppression, the constant choking feeling had started to weigh me down transforming me into an irritable, gloomy, short-tempered woman and then there were frequent arguments with Shekhar, some heated fights.

It has been five years since I last saw Shekhar on those steep, ominous stairs, outside the courtroom and i feel, perhaps, Shekhar’s purpose in my life was to teach me the meaning of yearning – the kind of longing that one feels for azure blue seas and enchanting white sands

Sometimes , I wonder if Shekhar ever laments his loss for not having taken a bold stand or how different our lives would have been with a little more understanding and acceptance from his parents but I have to confess that there’s a certain contentment and peace in flying free, un-caged and unfettered by shackles of subservient hopelessness in a new life where I can be fearlessly ME.

This is my entry  for Six Sentence Stories at Zoe’s uncharted , the cue of the week being “stand”. Thanks to Zoe for hosting the challenge.

Note- This is a condensed version of a story i had written a few months ago. 

It might also help to mention that a joint family structure where parents , sons , daughters-in-law, grandchildren live under the same roof, isn’t a rare arrangement in Indian society.

 

24 thoughts on “There she goes again!

  1. That’s a good story, Moon. I’m sure you were right to focus on trimming and improving readability when you revised the initial story. It’s often the case that ‘less is more’ with a short story, isn’t it? All the best, Penny

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree with Penny that launching a short story on such a platform as this is a good way to get a reaction and then perhaps writing a longer version or even a novel about the characters or developing the plot further later on. In the western world we are slowly understanding the traditions and customs of other nations and writing such as this helps very much.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much, OE. This platform with a talented community of writers is a great place to learn and experiment . True , we learn so much on account of rich diversity in the writer’ s groups . I really appreciate your comment.

      Like

    • That’s so true, more so in countries like ours where women for the most part , are dependent on their men , financially.
      Thanks so much for the kind comment, Mimi. I appreciate it.

      Like

    • Thanks so much , Neel. I guess you are right . And thanks for the ‘reader worthy ‘ . I am going to change that in my footnote. Appreciate your comment .🙂

      Like

  3. Sometimes with these prompts that limit word count or sentence count it seems like, darn, I wanted to add more detail, but I have found in the end it is a great exercise to pare the ideas down to the essential story. Which is what you have done here, nicely.I would suspect that if her living arrangement was common, divorce would be uncommon and that makes your character more courageous and compelling.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much for the read and the comment. 🙂
    Whereas divorce (especially on grounds of infringement on freedom and individual rights of the wife) was almost absent in our parent’s generation, at least in the middle class/upper middle class society, the divorce rates are rising in the cities , where at least the empowered i.e. economically independent women can say ‘i cant trade my life in the domain of marriage’ and can even walk out, though i would have to say that the middle class society is only still coming to terms with it not being a ‘stigma’.In rural areas and small towns ,divorce is still almost non-existent.
    so, your inference is 100% correct. It still requires a great deal of courage for a woman to say a permanent ‘no’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

