Echoes

“Something for you to remember me by “, I adore the painting on the table as his  voice echoes ,bridging  proximity and distance, permanence and impermanence . The precious gift had started to show the wear and  tear of time but I have refrained from framing it. I don’t want to lose his imprints. I read his letters from decades ago, stored in the beautiful jar that we had bought from the exhibition . Together. “For the beautiful lady” , he had said. I feel heavy and light . I try to catch the floating words and store them inside.

Word count-95

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle. Thanks Rochelle for hosting the challenge.

PHOTO PROMPT © Janet Webb

 

 

 

56 thoughts on “Echoes

  1. Loved that one! 🙂 ❤ Amazing what memories simple possessions hold. One of our friends is getting married this Saturday and this week I've been helping him pack up to move to his fiancé's home. In doing so, he's sharing stories of his family and passing many of his momentos on to me. The quilts his grandmother made will be cherished beyond measure. The little boxes with jewelry from his mother and his father will likewise be treasured. Most of all, was a little faded and dried up rose corsage… he was going to pitch it, but I asked to keep it. Why? he asked. Well, bubby, it reminds me of one I once wore that I lost in our house fire years ago. I replied. It's now tucked into a corner of one of my little cedar boxes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! Thanks for sharing your experiences and thoughts.
      That’s so sweet on your part to take care of his boxes of memories too.
      I really appreciate your comment.🙂❤️❤️❤️😊

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment , Kalpana. Appreciate it. The fact that they bear the cherished person’s impressions really make them so special – treasured possessions/ souvenirs .

      Like

    • True, Linda . I don’t know why the table and it’s contents stirred in mr shadows of past , a passionate longing for that what is not. ( anymore) I had thought of writing about death but that would have been even more melancholic. 🙂
      Thanks so much for the kind comment . I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

