The shortcut

“The thirty year’s war – skip , Glorious revolution in England-skip , Industrial revolution-skip, French revolution-skip, Creation of second Reich-skip, Bolshevik revolution in Russia-skip, World War -1 &2- skip. That still leaves me with the age of Renaissance and reformation, Age of Enlightenment, American war of Independence, Italian unification and   cold war  – more than enough to pass the irrational and irrelevant History examination , based on mere mugging-up of facts”, Janine asserts.

“We still have one month till the examination. Why don’t you try and do the World Wars, at least?”, Janine’s friend Rose points out.

“I want to devote that time to Science and Math and thank God ,it’s the very last time, I would have to sit for my longest arch-rival, ‘History’ examination” Janine gasps.

“I wish I could borrow your confidence” ,Rose teases her friend.

In the examination hall, Janine crumbles down to see the first three essay -type, marks-loaded questions set on the skipped portions of the syllabus and charges” literary skills to the rescue!”.

This story was written for Six Sentence Stories at Zoe’s uncharted , the cue of the week being “skip”. Thanks to Zoe for hosting the challenge.

18 thoughts on “The shortcut

    • I think that happens with most of us, it’s one or the other subject . Maths was that subject for me but I chose History since, in my observation, it’s the most widely detested school subject . Besides, there’s not much that one with limited aptitude can skip in Maths.
      Thanks so much for the appreciation, Zoe. 🙂

      Like

  1. Let’s hope that her literary skills far outshined her history studying skills! I once had a history/government teacher that I discovered graded essay questions solely on the length of content, reviewing only the first and final sentences of student responses. I did very well on those, often with utter nonsense sandwiched in the middle. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha . Happy to hear your story , Josie. I am glad he approved of the diligent sandwich .😀😀😀. I remember some teacher’s fascination with super long answers too. Would have been probably easier for aware students to impress them .
      I wonder if literary skills could ultimately deliver Janine! 😀
      Thanks so much for sharing your experiences, Josie
      Love,
      Moon.

      Like

    • Oh, even I am hoping that she manages the pass marks. The comment was regarding the (mis)calculation of the skipped syllabus.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and reading the story , OE.🙂

      Like

  2. Ayyiee! The totally dreaded ‘Essay Question’… how many (test hours) have I stared at the blank white space of an un-answered essay question. Dreaded them…even the ones with the semi-helpful ‘Compare and Contrast’. I took a lifetime to realize how helpful those 3 words were or had the potential to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences , Clark. Happy you could relate to the story . I appreciate your comment.. It’s funny how even some do or die moments of the past become light memories , later on.

      Like

  3. Whoa! That must have been an absolute nightmare. Times when you have to solely rely on your creative skills to get you through! Thankfully my ICSE History exam contained no questions on the portions that I’d skipped. Yet, reading this post brought back many memories. 😊 Excellent job, Moon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

