The distressed lane

Days are slow and vacant in this “once-happening “middle class neighborhood. The friendly lane by my window would buzz with sounds of children, happy young men and street peddlers. People are increasingly seeking shelter in safer cities, even countries. Business is perishing under threats of frequent curfews . Tourists are few and far between. Today , however, seems to be different . I hear faint murmurs, rapidly developing into audible sounds. I see teenage boys , not with footballs but placards , proclaiming “Peace not war”.My neighbor’s sons wave to me . I realize they have been long gone. Some sights as echoes live on.

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle. Thanks Rochelle for hosting the challenge.

PHOTO PROMPT Β© Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.Thank you, dear Rochelle for our photo prompt.

88 thoughts on “The distressed lane

  1. Dear Moon,

    This is reminiscent of the neighborhood I grew up in. It was once a nice middle class neighborhood, but over the years has become a little closer to the “bad part of town.” Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t imagine living under conditions like these, but I have been in them myself, having traveled a lot. At least, there seems to be some hope for a turnaround. That will be a welcome thing.

    Nice story, Moon. Nice to meet you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Moon,
    This was very evocative and moving. I really appreciated it and felt it went well with my flash of the young Australian girl killed in a war zone in Israel. It’s hard to stomach kids being caught up in war like this. Such a tragedy.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s heart wrenching , Rowena. I could appreciate the depth of your flash even more after your explanation of the sad end here . You have written it brilliantly. Admire the subtlety so much . Much to learn from the talented FF group, indeed.
      Thanks so much for the read and the comment, Rowena. Appreciate it, truly. πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

