The dream vacation

“One, two…fifty ,fifty one… hundred…”,Meera empties the Dolphin piggy bank to assess her funds.
“Yay maa ! I have 200 rupees in my piggy bank”
“Are you going to buy ‘arund the world in 80 days’ with that money, Meera?“
“No Maa, I am saving this money for you and me. “
With a surprised chuckle , mother asks “for you and me ? “
“Maa , you and I will go to Bali , when I have enough money in my piggy bank . We will take the boat ride to Lovina to watch my favourite Dolphins roam free in the blue sea,  visit the zoo to play wth the elephant , hug the honey bear , ride a submarine , adopt a baby turtle and…”, Meera enthusiastically lists her wishes.
“Maa, how much will the vacation to Bali cost ? “ Meera adds anxiously .
“May be , four more years of you and I saving hard” mother estimates.
“I will be tall like you by then, won’t I maa?” and mother smiles.
“Am I the best daughter, Maa”?
“Yes, my dear, you are the best-est “ and mother dreams along.

Written for FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER- 2017 WEEK #24 where participants are required to write a flash fiction piece under 200 words, inspired by the photo prompt.

Image courtesy : https://www.pexels.com/photo/high-angle-view-of-pier-309166/

Thanks to rogershipp for hosting the challenge.

7 thoughts on “The dream vacation

Leave a Reply

