Charred

“Papa, will you be proud of me, if I become a doctor when I grow up ?” my 4 and a half year old daughter Alice would ask ,adjusting her toy stethoscope around her ears. A father’s emotional heart, that’s what a daughter is .

I am waiting in my car , struggling to find a way to break the news to her mother . My eyes and heart bleed tears as I picture her orphaned charred toys in the mound of ashes. I wish we had not sent her to school today . She would have been safe at home and ALIVE.

Word count-97

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle . Thanks Rochelle for hosting the challenge.
Photo prompt courtesy : Karuna.

 

38 thoughts on “Charred

    • Thanks so much for the welcome, dear Rochelle . I realIy appreciate your warm address.
      The universality of violence in our world is heartbreaking indeed. Gratitude for your kind words.

      Like

  1. That is horrible. I have a nearly two year old granddaughter and she has a toy doctor’s instrument bag which includes a stethoscope. I put the two ends in my ears, press the other against her chest and say “heartbeat.” Now, whenever she plays with any of those toys, she looks up at me and says “heartbeat”. I can’t wait until she’s old enough to understand that she is my heartbeat.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Welcome to Friday Fictioneers.
    I really love this, despite its very tragic and heartbreaking theme. I really loved and treasured this line:
    “A father’s emotional heart, that’s what a daughter is .” As a daughter myself, I have experienced that and particularly remember the look of pride when my Dad walked me down the aisle.

    I also know that terrible knowledge of having to break bad news to others and how hard that is. In my case, medical details. It’s so hard to find the words, especially when you’re still trying to come to terms with it yourself.

    There was one line where I suspect a typo:
    “My eyes and heart bleed tear as I picture her orphaned charred toys in the mound of ashes.”
    I would suggest: “My eyes and heart bleed tears, as I picture her orphaned charred toys in the mound of ashes.”
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the warm welcome, Rowena. Really appreciate it . Sorry about the stark tragedy in response to the prompt.
    Thankful to you for pointing out the error. 🙂 Have already fixed it .
    I appreciate your kind and considerate feedback.
    Best wishes ,
    Moon

    Like

Leave a Reply

