What’s in a name ?

They call me Moonmoon . ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ The name is a huge hit here in India , thanks to its association with a popular Bollywood siren of yesteryears , who is also sometimes credited with pioneering the name . In keeping with the true spirit of a joint family , with uncles and aunts who loved the newborn(s) almost as much as the just-born parents did, I was christened by my uncle who probably would have contemplated on the popularity and melody of the name rather than its meaning or absence thereof . Fortunately , I have managed to do fine with the name – passing all the exams, official interviews and even visa interviews , like a winged bird .

It was not until I landed in a different country and continent , that the traditional, unexceptional name acquired a whole new value. The huge ย LOL in a sticky note , displayed adjacent to my name in the very first workplace that I got hired at helped me to ย realise , how I had taken my name for granted for all those years in my native land , how much it spoke for my roots and who I was . The new friends that I made at ย the new workplace , started calling me โ€œmoonโ€. ย I didn’t mind the abbreviation though and in fact ย grew to love it, with time.

However, when I read the prompt โ€œThey call meโ€ฆ โ€œ at Kristi โ€˜s Finish the sentence Friday , there was a simultaneous flash of a string of adjectives along with the string of ย my name and nicknames . While I turn to the proper nouns as proofs of my physical existence, itโ€™s the adjectives that attest to the nature of my existence and the nature of my connections with people around me, assigning the real meaning to my name ย .

P.S. Thank you Josie for helping me ย discover Finish the sentence Fridayย  where Kristi ย has ย asked us to finish the sentence “They call me..”ย , this week.

12 thoughts on “What’s in a name ?

  1. I love both Moonmoon and Moon – probably because both are affectionate. I have new nieces and nephews and I attest to loving those babies fiercely – almost as much as their parents!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for adding smiles to my day, Tamara. It’s so awesome that you share such a close bond with your nephews and nieces. Rich relationships makes life so much more meaningful . ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  2. Moonmoon is a delightful name! It’s funny how our name becomes so bound up with our identity. Do you ever wonder if your life would have turned out differently if you’d had a different name?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Nick for more smiles.๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š hahaha . That’s an interesting question , some people actually do believe that names play a powerful role in determining life’s course. ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ˜Š Yes , I have imagined of a life with a different name, say , Pragya . ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š Thanks so much for reading the post . So appreciate it .

      Like

  3. I’m so glad Josie helped you to find Finish the Sentence Friday and that you linked up. I love Moonmoon and Moon both. It reminds me that different people – totally unrelated – have each given my son Tucker the name TuckTuck. There’s something reassuring about the double name. And I agree that our names bring up so much rooted in family and memories and become really who we are.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much for stopping by , Kristi . ๐Ÿ˜Š Really appreciate your kind comment . I am so happy to have discovered your place, with Josie’s help. Thanks for hosting this wonderful challenge .
      How amazing that two completely unrelated people came up with close versions of the name. The nickname Tuck Tuck is super cute . ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š
      I have many different nick names , my mom ,dad,uncles call me by different nicknames . It’s interesting how so many different nicknames converge and we are still just the same person . I enjoy the many nick names , they make me feel so special .๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  4. You are very kind, Lisa. Thanks so much. Thanks also for the welcome .:) ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am so happy to have discovered your blog . Enjoying your writing .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Throughout the A to Z I had wondered if Moon was a pen name, because it is so beautiful. Who doesn’t love the moon?! Now I know that it is your given name and I think you are blessed to have it. We all wonder at times what might have been different if we were given other names, but just as you noted in the comments above, as we go through life we acquire lots of nicknames from friends, family and other connections. My sister and I have nicknames for each other, and then when she wrote mine with a typo one night I responded in kind with hers, and now we use those instead and it always makes us laugh! It is such a pleasure to see you joining in the blog hops, Moon, your presence is a fresh breath of air! Please email me a way to contact you. My email address is jts.2000@yahoo.com. XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Josie! Always so great to see you. ๐Ÿ™‚ I so appreciate your beautiful comment . Nicknames are so special. Thanks for sharing the anecdote on new nicknames. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ i can imagine the fun.
    The blog hops would have been impossible without you . Thanks for being my kind guide .
    Thanks also for the email address . My email id is apieceofmoon@rediffmail.com .
    Love…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

