If only…

“Chicken kebabs, please “ . he ordered with a proud grin on his face as I tried to coat my disappointment with a pleasing smile , even though “I hate chicken” screamed in my head .

The other day ,he   poured milk into my coffee , oblivious of the fact that I prefer my coffee black , and I managed to dismiss it with the naive  logic,“may be, he doesn’t know “ .

It pains me to no end, the” he doesn’t know “.

He doesn’t know how  I love pan roasted honey glazed mushrooms, how I prefer a white rose over red , how I like sunsets more than sunrises, how I feel silences could so much speak , how spontaneous moments give me more joy than planned sophisticated days.

Small, insignificant facts, some things that make me ME.

May be someday ,he will earnestly ask  ,”I want to know”.

13 thoughts on “If only…

  1. Having been with DH forever and day this is something I don’t have to worry with. In fact, he knows me better than I know myself. It’s uncanny how he knows the smallest things like…when I need to go to the restroom. He’ll be like, “You better go while we’re stopped.” I will say, “But, I don’t think I need to.” “Yeah, you do.” It surprises me to no end when I go and then sheepishly discover that I actually needed to. How does he do that? lol It’s so crazy. Another thing that’s insane is, I can be talking to him non-stop but it looks like he’s not paying a bit of attention to me. I get my feelings hurt and ask why he isn’t listening. He’ll say that he was and I give him that look that says “Oh sure you were!”, then he repeats word for word what I said. I will never use the old argument, My husband doesn’t listen to me! He listens better than I do. Thanks for visiting today!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathy , thanks so much for sharing your beautiful love story . such stories are inspirational . Its so wonderful that your husband knows you better than you know yourself . And, i am so happy for you . I too am thankful for my husband , he understands me in the spirit of a very good friend .
    It was a pleasure visting your blog . I am going to hop over everyThursday , for sure . 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh, i am sad for her. If he’s like so many, he won’t ever take the time to find out until it is too late.

    Thanks for visiting my story, it’s a 6 sentence story series about a Djinn, but i’m trying to figure out how to put up a page with all the installments in one place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for reading the story . 😊I will try going back to your blog and join the pieces together. It looks to be a very interesting story .

      Like

    • I hope so too, Nilanjana . I appreciate your colour choices. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by and reading . So appreciate it . 🙂 🙂

      Like

  4. I am not sure how I missed this post earlier, but it is excellent! You should link it up to the Six Sentence Stories post at Uncharte, it is always ok to add more than one link! Sometimes I do one from each of my blogs. 🙂

    This story is sadly true of many relationships. I am certain that my previous husband of thirteen years would not have been able to answer even the most basic questions about me, including my favorite color or what I most enjoyed doing. It was sad, because his interest was so self-focused that he didn’t stop to appreciate those around him. That is why he is once again alone, and will continue to lose relationships.

    Never, ever, become seriously involved with someone who does not take a personal interest in you enough to know the basic details of what you like and who you are! XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for your kind comment, dear Josie . Its sad when people have to bear the pain of being just an appendix in their partner’s life . Thirteen long years? I am sad to hear your story, Josie and i wish you all happiness so you can forget the pain.
    By God’s grace, i am married to a man who understands, appreciates and cares for me. An indifferent someone would have killed me .
    Love and best wishes,
    Moon

    Like

Leave a Reply

