S is for Siblings are special #AtoZBloggingChallenge2017

I have had the privilege of growing up in a joint family , a 25 member household , a house echoing with sounds of a range of conversations, from serious, soft whispers to high pitched cheerful chatter . There was always something to do, someone to talk to, someone to hang around with , someone we could call a “friend”. Not to mention, one could aspire to enjoy “play dates” , all days of the week , all through the day with siblings and cousins , living under the same roof.

Being the oldest in the generation, the rudimentary understanding of “friend” as a little companion one could play with, would have dawned in me when I was around 3 years old and my sister was around age 1 . Though “playing “ would have mostly meant a silent game of peek-a –boo or something like the repetitive task of putting the pretend lollipop in the doll’s mouth that would make both the dolls(the plastic and the real life) break into ripples of laughter. I would probably have been the only one to have felt a tinge of nervousness on the first day at school . For my sister and younger cousins , there was always one familiar friend from the family to tell them “it will be all right”, alleviating the anxiety of the unfamiliar.

Being a child was different. We had limited privileges in terms of material goods but unlimited moments of fun and happy companionship with siblings and cousins. The mornings started with collective giggles , innocent pranks and a kid’s breakfast at the huge dining table. T.V. as a friend for entertainment during lunch hours or recesses was redundant as we had so many “live” friends right at home . Going to school was a fun ritual and so was practicing school work together , with the confident older siblings and cousins , helping the compliant younger learners with their exercises. Non-compliant exceptions were rare. The outdoor games of hide and seek , hopscotch , freeze tag with my beloved siblings and cousins animated the evenings. Weekends meant customary visits to the fields , orchards or the lake , brothers and sisters in arms . Rainy days were about paper boat competitions and getting drenched in the rain . Without reservations.

Festivals were twice as much fun , despite the fact that my sister and I looked as though we were in uniform , with family members diligently buying matching dresses for us, without fail . Festivals were busy times , packed with practice sessions for the talent show that we, the children , conducted for showcasing our talents to our proud and happy family members . Enjoying the rides and the interesting stalls in the village fair was a special ritual during the festivals.

The bond between the members of my generation was so strong that I couldn’t tell my cousins apart from my siblings. Our shared history , a repository of smiles , giggles , anecdotes , our happy camaraderie , the special moments we have built up together is what makes our bond so unique. Though education, career, marriage has separated us , geographically , we are still an indispensable part of each other’s lives. Thanks to my siblings (and cousins), in order to roll into a child-like giggle, all i need to do is to close my eyes.

27 thoughts on “S is for Siblings are special #AtoZBloggingChallenge2017

  1. Nice one Moonmoon . Reading this, I was carried back to my childhood days where we will play non stop for several hours till our shoulders drop. I really miss those days and feel sad that my children will never get to experience the fun of growing in a joint family environment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much ,Parik. So happy to hear about your happy memories .Yes, children are missing out on a lot of childhood fun because visits to malls , playing with gadgets and tabs have replaced the spontaneous, unadulterated fun that we had as children .

      Like

  2. ‘Being a child was different’ truer words never written!

    Indeed I didn’t have siblings growing up and still don’t, I was in a joint family for only a few years of my childhood, but those years created such strong bonds, I have never known the difference between sibling and cousins and the bonds carry on to this day.

    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.
    Madly-in-Verse

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, siblings and close cousins are such a blessing . I thank God for my lovely sisters and cousins. So happy to hear about the special bond that you share with your cousins. Thanks so much for stopping by , Nilanjana . Truly appreciate your comment.

      Like

    • Thanks so much for stopping by , Keith. 🙂 I appreciate your comment . Happy to hear that the two of you share a close bond. sad to hear about the other brother who doesn’t realise what he is missing out on.

      Like

  3. What a beautiful post to read 🙂 I have one sibling and I am so glad I do even though as we were growing up there were plenty of bickerings but there was always someone there and that was what was important. I am also glad my own two children have also had that in their lives and like each other’s company even though they are very different personalities.
    http://pempispalace.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/s-is-for-solitary-sapien-solar-system.html

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What wonderful memories of family and childhood! To grow up in a large family would be so wonderful I think, always someone there to share your days and experiences with, and to share your struggles and concerns as you get older. It made me smile just to think of this giggling brood of cousins at play or gathered around the table! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Brothers and sisters who know us the best, even if we grew up to live lives far apart from each other. Every peeve, every nudge, and to pick up right where we left the last time. Thanks again for the best nostalgia trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yes , Andy . i am still very close with my sisters . I could count on them to be there for me , without an iota of doubt. And, same holds true of some of my first -cousins . 🙂 Thanks so much for reading my story .

      Like

Leave a Reply

