Lessons in love

I am blessed to have a spiritual “Guru” (a teacher and a guide who takes me from darkness to light). I had met my Guru in the Convent school that i attended for secondary education. I have been in touch with him ever since and he has been responsive to my problems and questions in the most compassionate and affectionate way.He has loved me unconditionally , like parents love their children .

I was talking about how some people are unwilling to accept and shut out the love that we want to give them ,friends and relatives that we may try to have a good relationship with and who dismiss our efforts or even humiliate our attempt at goodwill. I told my Guru , “failure of efforts turns love to not-love”. To this my guru responded , ” True Love is not a feeling but a decision .True love has little to no emotions.”

I was confused because love has always been a feeling to me . I never knew of a feeling-less love .Feelings are the drivers of actions and feelings can be a component of the mind and heart that are purely emotional . Feelings bring compassion and devotion in love and help people like me serve others in the best possible way. It might be relevant to mention here that i am not a Christian and i am not conversant with the Holy Bible, despite my convent education .
My Guru mentioned about the categories of love and talked briefly about the ” agape ” love , the unconditional love of God for men and how when extended to fellow humans “agape ” was the most refined form of spiritual love. While researching further , i stumbled upon this article that i really loved http://www.gotquestions.org/amp/agape-love.html and this beautiful passage from The Bible :

“…You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor[i] and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that?..”I read this and experienced the beauty of the Holy book that inspires us to embrace the most liberal kind of love .

True to the spirit of “Guru ” , my teacher yet again took me from darkness to light . And i learnt yet again , there was so much inspiration and spiritual treasure in each religion . Inspiration to be more than we are : more tolerant , more generous , more content and more at peace with the world around us .

Leave a Reply

